Sign in to follow this  
Jhoward

Wise Counsel

I need some wise counsel. My husband and I got married about 2 years ago and it's been a battle ever since in every way imagineable. I am a sahm but I work part time as a sub day care worker when called upon. My husband makes a decent salary but because he has a daughter from a previous relationship we pay child support and financially we have been struggling since day one. My husband was unemployed at the time of our wedding and then I ended up on leave to have a baby before we knew it - on the first day of my leave my husband started his present job. We both decided that it was in the best interest of our family for me to stay home instead of working to spend half of what I could earn on having someone else watch our child (plus we only have one vehicle). Now, through all this we have faithfully given ou tithe and I believe that the Lord has faithfully blessed us. We are still struggling financially though. It has been months since we could actually pay any bills on time - including our rent and car. Everything is behind. Previously I picked up a nights and weekends job but the lack of transportation and the lack of me being home when my husband was bothered my husband so much that he asked me to quit that job so I did. At the same time I picked up another job (the one I have now) but worked it every morning for 3 hours during the week and with the extra driving the money was primarily covering the cost of gas and causing my husband stress due to the transportation arrangement. That's when I cut down to being a sub. Now my husband has picked up a second job and thinks that somehow this is the solution. I am at a loss. I don't believe that is the solution, but I know he needs my support so I spoke my peace and let him make the choice. There has to be something I can do - but what?