Sign in to follow this  
director.lionel

Movie Mom's Interview with Me

Hello!

I'm a Christian filmmaker, and I did an interview with Movie Mom, Nell Minow, who's also a Rotten Tomatoes Critic. Here's one of the questions and my answer:

Why do you think so few movies communicate meaningfully to teenagers?

Most Hollywood executives are not out to communicate but to market. Money,

aka the prohibitive cost of making and marketing a film, so dominates the

landscape that executives--the money men--have reign of the regime and not the

artists, visionaries nor auteurs, of whom the latter are now industry relics.

Studios can't afford to take risks on niche movies that don't have obvious

mainstream allure. And, so they make movies that appeal viscerally with the

lowest common denominators (explosions, skin, weed, 3D, etc.) to fill seats in

the theaters.

If you'd like to read more, here's the link: http://blog.beliefnet.com/moviemom/2010/07/interview-lionel-chew-of-long-.html

I'm curious to know as a filmmaker, what things do you consider when deciding whether or not to let your child or children watch a movie?

Lionel

Edited by director.lionel
To add excerpt

My child is only allowed to go the movie theater to see movies which my DH and I approve of first. Nothing over a PG13, which is getting harder and harder to come by. Almost any movie these days is at least an R. We really can't be too controlling over what he gets to go see...there's almost nothing available anymore that doesn't have cursing, nudity, violence. We try to limit his exposure to this stuff though when we can.

He really doesn't mind. When the kids were younger we bought all the Feature Films For Families and that was pretty much all the kids got to watch. Those and Disney movies. Nowadays though you even have to be careful about Disney movies...crazy, huh?

Edited by momsense
added another thought