Sign in to follow this  
mommy2liddy

Wishing I could go back to being a SAHM.

Well, get ready for a lot of reading, because I have a lot to say about this situation. Here's the deal: I had my daughter Lydia in May of 2001 during my junior year of high school. The first summer with her was good. Then I went back for my senior year, which wasn't bad at all, because I only went for half a day. I was only away from Lydia for 4 hours.

Then, after I graduated last year, I decided that I was going to stay home through the fall, and if I decided to go to college that it would be in the spring. Well, I got married to Lydia's father in July of 2002, and enjoyed my time at home with Lydia until January when I started college. That would be great if I had actually wanted to go to college in the first place. The thing is, I took time in the fall to think about whether I wanted to go to college. Well, I told my parents that I really did not want to go. They were upset and so they started giving me incentives to want to go to college. They said they would pay for Lydia's babysitter, give me gas money and spending money for college, and that they would get me a car. It sounded like a very good thing because I would never have that opportunity again. (We live behind my parents in a separate house that is on their land. We are not going to live there forever, so the things they were offering me were basically a limited-time thing.)

You see, at the same time that my parents were trying to convince me to go to college, my husband was wanting me to get a job. I didn't want to do either one, but I figured it would be better to go into a clerical job with some knowledge of what goes on in an office. My husband would have no problem with me staying at home, but we need the money right now. We are trying to buy some land near his dad's house, and we need money to do it. His dad and stepmom also think it is great that I am going to college.