Sign in to follow this  
amypk

Baby Waking

Hi! I'm new to this. I came across this site by accident and thought I'd see if anyone could help me. I have a 16 month old daughter who we've spoiled by giving a bottle and rocking to sleep. Now she still needs this to get to sleep and it still takes at least an hour to get her down. After we finally get her down, a few hours later she wakes up and it takes a couple hours to get her back to sleep. We've tried letting her cry it out, but she just gets upset and vomits. Does anyone have any advice on this? In the afternoons I can just stick her in her bed and she plays with her bear and falls asleep. Thanks for your help! It's so wonderful to find a support group for Christian moms.

I have a 19 month old, who also gets a bottle and rocked to sleep. She goes through phases where she wakes up at night. It took us about two weeks to figure out her night light was casting shadows on the walls. She'd wake up and raise her hand up and see the shadow and get spooked. We changed the direction of the night light and it helped.

Sometimes my daughter will wake up thirsty. I'll walk in, stick a bottle in her mouth, and walk out. I don't say anything or give her any eye contact. I know she's to old for a middle of the night bottle BUT.... She's teething so maybe not eating as much as she should be. It's hot so she's thirsty. Hey all I know is it usually works and we both get to go back to sleep. I've learned to do it as quickly and uneventful as possible. If I'm in there more than a few seconds, I blew it.

Another thought--her room looks different during the day than it does at night. Are there different noises in the house before nap time and bedtime? Maybe try the same routine for bedtime that you use for nap time. My daughter is a creature of habit. She's also the most resistive to sleep when she's over tired.